Our writers mean business

Jacqui Rose

Jacqui is a bestselling author of fourteen gritty British crime novels.

She hails from South Yorkshire and spent her childhood daydreaming and writing plays and stories for anyone who would listen.

She trained as an actress but eventually decided to focus on her love of the written word.

She has three grown up children and when she's not writing, Jacqui is busy running around after her dogs, cats and horses.
 

More info & rights  

The Streets

The Streets is a hard-hitting gangland thriller from the bestselling author Jacqui Rose.

Ten years ago, Jo Martin was released from prison after serving twelve years of a life sentence. She is now out on license – and she isn’t Jo anymore. Given a new identity by the courts, and with a different appearance, a ready-made history and even a change of age, Jo can pretend to be anyone . . .

Cookie Mackenzie, is not only Ned Reid’s lover, but she also works for him. She supplies the girls – and boys – for Ned’s clients. There’s always some runaway kid who needs shelter.

Natalie Ellis works at Barney’s bar. A fierce and loyal friend, she’s a shoulder to cry on, a listening ear – but should everyone really trust her to keep their secrets?

Lorni Duncan needs to keep running, always looking over her shoulder, especially with a young child in tow. But how will she survive? The refuges are full, and the last thing Lorni needs is the authorities getting involved. Who is she trying to escape from?

Everyone has something to hide and a lot to lose, but which of them did Jo become?

Territory Publisher/Agent
World Darley Anderson Agency
World English Pan Macmillan
More info & rights  

Rival

Franny Doyle has one thing in common with Wan Huang, head of the notorious Triads gang: they both want Vaughn Sadler six feet under.

When Harry Jacobs brings Vaughn into his business and his fold, his life is protected – for now.

But when Franny finds out the truth about Wan and Harry’s dark dealings, all hell breaks loose in Soho. And Vaughn is the key to helping Franny with the score she now has to settle Together with Alfie Jennings, they were once a formidable trio. But can bitter enemies once again become allies? Because in a life of crime – no one lets bygones be bygones…

THREE GANGSTERS. TWO FUNERALS. ONE LAST OPPORTUNITY FOR REVENGE.

AS THE OLD SAYING GOES…KEEP YOUR FRIENDS CLOSE, AND YOUR ENEMIES CLOSER.

Territory Publisher/Agent
World Darley Anderson Agency
UK & Commonwealth HarperCollins / Avon
More info & rights  

Poison

THERE ARE SOME PEOPLE YOU SHOULD NEVER CROSS

In a life of crime, loyalty means everything – even if you don’t always see eye to eye. But when Vaughn Sadler speaks up to get Franny Doyle sent down, he’s broken every rule in the book to win checkmate.

AND OTHERS YOU SHOULDN’T UNDERESTIMATE…

Holed up in prison, Franny has more than one score to settle – but she’s starting with Vaughn. Because you don’t grass on your own, no matter what. And though she may be behind bars, she will get revenge – whatever the cost.

Before, there was just bad blood running through her veins. But now, there is poison…

Territory Publisher/Agent
World Darley Anderson Agency
UK & Commonwealth HarperCollins / Avon
More info & rights  

Sinner

Having been brought up amongst the hardest gangsters and faces of London, Franny Doyle learnt never to let love be her weakness. But she’ll do anything to protect those close to her, and at whatever cost.

Her partner Alfie Jennings is under pressure. The only person he ever sent down has recently been released from prison, and his Soho nightclub is under threat from his rival Charlie Eton – a man who doesn’t respond kindly to people taking away his business.

Charlie is playing dirty to come out on top, and when innocent children become involved in the feud, Franny and Alfie are dragged into a dark underworld where Alfie must face demons from his past, and Franny is in a dangerous race against time to ensure her own secrets aren’t exposed.

Betrayal and lies come with consequences, and old sins cast long shadows…

Territory Publisher/Agent
UK & Commonwealth (inc. Canada) HarperCollins / Avon
World Darley Anderson Agency
More info & rights  

Fatal

Dying is easy. It’s living that’s hard…

An eye for an eye.
Cabhan Morton wants to leave the Russo crime family for good and live in peace with his daughter, Alice Rose. But the Russos won’t let him walk away without a fight.

A tooth for a tooth.
Franny Doyle would do anything for Cabhan and Alice, but helping them escape the vindictive Russo brothers won’t be easy. The only place they’ll be safe is back in Essex with Alfie Jennings.

A daughter for a daughter…
Franny knows she won’t be welcomed by Alfie with open arms – but she doesn’t have a choice. The Russos are out for blood and they won’t stop until Alice is dead…

Territory Publisher/Agent
UK & Commonwealth (inc. Canada) HarperCollins / Avon
World Darley Anderson Agency
More info & rights  

Toxic

Sometimes love is toxic…

Bree Dwyer is desperate to escape her husband, take the children and run. But he’s always watching. And she always gets caught. Until her first love, Alfie Jennings, returns to Essex…

Gangsters Alfie and Vaughn have been out of the game for a while, but a life of crime is one you never forget.

To get back on top they need serious money, because loyalty and power don’t come for free. One dangerous job and they’ll have the payoff they need. And Alfie isn’t going to let anyone get in the way, least of all a pretty face like Bree.

It’s time to show Essex what they’re made of. And this time, Alfie and Vaughn aren’t backing down.

Territory Publisher/Agent
UK & Commonwealth (inc. Canada) HarperCollins / Avon
World Darley Anderson Agency
More info & rights  

Disobey

When you play with fire, you’re not the only one who gets burned…

Setting up an illegal casino in Soho was a dangerous move, and now Alfie Jennings’ business is under threat from a rival gang. The last thing he needs is for his teenage niece Chloe-Jane to turn up on his doorstep – and all the trouble that she brings with her.

When Chloe-Jane betrays Alfie’s trust, she finds herself back on the streets. But when she’s brutally kidnapped, Alfie soon realises the turf war with his rivals has turned personal. He will stop at nothing to protect Chloe-Jane. Because you don’t mess with family. And you certainly don’t mess with a Jennings…

Territory Publisher/Agent
World Darley Anderson Agency
UK & Commonwealth HarperCollins / Avon
More info & rights  

Betrayed

‘She trusted the man she loved. It was the most dangerous thing she had ever done …’

No one can touch Del Williams – the hardest gangster in Soho. He’s got the monopoly on the drugs, the clubs and the girls – it’d be a mistake to underestimate him. The one person he’d take a bullet for is tough, beautiful Bunny Barker, mother of their daughter Star.

Bunny is determined to shield Star from ‘life’ but Del has a lot of enemies. When a familiar face appears from their past, their family is put into terrible danger. Can Bunny protect Star from the demons of her own past, and her very worst nightmare?

Territory Publisher/Agent
World Darley Anderson Agency
UK & Commonwealth HarperCollins / Avon
More info & rights  

Avenged

You make a deal with the devil; you pay your dues…

Franny Doyle has always known that her father Patrick has been up to no good. After all you don’t become one of London’s number one gangsters without ruffling a few feathers along the way. Still, she adores her dad and she knows that he would lay down his life for her – she is his number one girl and he has taught her everything she knows.

But when something terrible happens to Patrick, Franny realises that he has some very dangerous enemies. Delving into Patrick’s past, Franny becomes involved in a high-stakes game. She’s not afraid. Patrick has taught her to be a fighter and she’s determined to make him proud, even if it means paying the ultimate price – her own life.

Territory Publisher/Agent
World Darley Anderson Agency
UK & Commonwealth HarperCollins / Avon
More info & rights  

Trapped


A gritty, gangland Romeo and Juliet story from bestselling author Jacqui Rose, Trapped is perfect for fans of Jessie Keane and Martina Cole As teenagers, Maggie Donaldson and Johnny Taylor fell hard and fast in love. But they didn't know they were from rival gangland families in London's criminal underworld. Going public with their relationship would have brought them more trouble than they could handle, so for years they concealed the truth. But their house of cards won't be safe for much longer. Maggie's violent father Max has always been out for the Taylors' blood and treats his own family with barely more sympathy. There's a long-buried reason for the vendetta that no one talks about, a secret so shocking it could tear each family - and Maggie and Johnny - apart.

Territory Publisher/Agent
World Darley Anderson Agency
UK & Commonwealth HarperCollins / Avon
More info & rights  

Dishonour

When Laila takes the chance of holding hands with her teenage crush Ray Ray on the walk home from school, she has no idea of the trouble she's about to cause. Perfect for fans of Martina Cole, Dishonour is a hard-hitting, gritty page-turner. 'No matter what she did, he would always be there, right behind her. She could never escape' Laila is sixteen years old and beautiful, kind and clever; traits liable to get her into trouble and make people dislike her . . .She doesn't make her life any easier when she falls in love with an English boy, bringing shame on her family and attracting the attention of some very dangerous men. These men are always watching her and will stop at nothing to get things done their way. Soon there's a terrible 'accident' and Laila is forced to make a deal with the devil. And pay a very heavy price for breaking the rules. Laila has been forced to marry a cruel, controlling man by the people who are supposed to love her the most. Without anyone to help her, she has to find her own way out. . .

Territory Publisher/Agent
UK & Commonwealth HarperCollins / Avon
World Darley Anderson Agency
More info & rights  

Taken

Casey Edwards has demons to put to rest. Since she had to give away her baby at 15, she’s been lost in booze and bad company. But now she wants to find her child and put things right…

Heading to Soho, Casey meets former gangster Vaughn Sadler, an old-school hard man who can still handle himself – and anyone else. There’s a spark between Vaughn and Casey but she can’t let herself get hurt, not again.

To find the truth, Casey must enter the dark world of London’s gangland: hard drugs, vice, even people trafficking. Soon she discovers that mob boss Alfie Jennings and sadistic psycho Oscar Hardings are plotting something dangerous, something brutal. Something that puts Casey – and her child – in serious trouble . . .

Territory Publisher/Agent
UK & Commonwealth HarperCollins / Avon
World Darley Anderson Agency

The most commercially minded agency in London

Our UK literary agents have a long history of producing commercial success for our authors in a broad variety of genres. Many of our writers are among the highest-paid, bestselling authors in the world.